Home > Sports News > Asamoah Denies Snubbing Ghana

Asamoah Denies Snubbing Ghana

Kwadwo AsamoahGhana midfielder Kwadwo Asamoah says he has been misquoted following reports that he suggested he would snub the Black Stars to play for Udinese during next year’s African Cup of Nations.

The Italy-based enforcer even added that he wants to help the Black Stars win their fifth Nations Cup title in Angola.

He was accused of betraying his country after the reports in the Italian media stated he would stay behind in January during the tournament in Angola to help his struggling club.

However, Asamoah has vehemently denied the remarks, saying that he has been badly misrepresented by the Italian press.

“I have been completely misquoted by the Italian press on my comments about the African Cup of Nations,” Asamoah told Ghanasoccernet.com exclusively.

“My Italian is not perfect and therefore the meaning of what I said has been lost in translation by the journalists in Italy.

“I told them that it is an honour to play for my country and I will travel to Angola to play for my country at the Nations Cup.

“I only sympathised with my club that they might need my services while I am away in Angola but my country comes first.

“I want to assure the people of Ghana that statement is not true and I am fully committed to my country.”

Asamoah played a key role in Ghana’s qualification for the World Cup and Nations Cup as he excelled in two away matches against Mali and Sudan.

 “We fought for our country to qualify for the tournament. If I am not interested in playing for Ghana why did I then help the team to qualify?” Asamoah asked.

The Ghana international has just recovered from a four-month injury lay-off and should be available for the Black Stars at the tournament in Angola in January.

Ghana international, Kwadwo Asamoah made a return to the game after a long lay-off due to injury.

Asamoah, who had been out of action for four months, played his first competitive game four months out on the sidelines over the weekend for Udinese in the Italian Serie A.

The Black Stars player was handed a starting place in Udinese’s 0-1 loss to Palermo over the weekend before being taken off on the 90th minute mark.

Asamoah established himself in the Serie A last season but had to watch the opening games of the season from the stands after picking up a knee injury in pre-season.

Credit: dailyguideghana

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

