Home > Sports News > Hearts Dominate PLB Awards

Hearts Dominate PLB Awards

Tawrick Jibril

Tawrick Jibril

Accra Hearts of Oak was adjudged the best club in this year’s Professional League Board (PLB) awards which were held over the weekend.  Teenage prodigy of Hearts, was also adjudged the Most Promising Player of the year; beating club mate, Obed Ansah and Ato Bissah of Hasaacas.

Goal-keeper, Philemon McCarthy also picked the goal-keeper of the season award; with Isaac Amoako of Kumasi Asante Kotoko and Stephen Ahorlu of Kpando Heart of Lions following in that order.  Joseph Ato Bissah was voted Glo Premier League’s Most Valuable Player (MVP).

The Eleven Wise midfielder beat off competition from Latif Salifu of Liberty Professionals and Iddrisu Yahaya of Kesseben FC to claim the league’s MVP. 13 individuals received various awards for their excellent performances last season, whilst six other organizations were also honoured for their various contributions to the success of last season’s Glo Premier League.

Having scored 16 goals in the league, Alex Asamoah of Kotoko had no difficulty in picking up the Top-Scorer Award. Lee Addy, a central defender for Bechem Chelsea, was voted the best defender of the season, ahead of Nafiu Awudu of King Faisal and Bright Addae of Wa All Stars.

The marksman for relegated Sporting Mirren, Mahatma Otoo, emerged as the Discovery of the season, leaving behind Issaka Ibrahim of Bechem Chelsea and Bright Addae of Wa All Stars.  Paa Kwesi Fabin, head coach of Heart of Lions, was voted the Best Coach of the season, ahead of Stephen Pollack of King Faisal and Hebert Addo of Kumasi Asante Kotoko.

Gbese Mantse, Nii Ayi Bonte II, known in private life as Thomas Okine, was adjudged the Most Outstanding Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the season, ahead of Sam Oduro Nyarko of Wa All Stars and Vincent Odotei Sowah of King Faisal.  The CEO of Hearts of Oak was also given a special certificate of recognition for his contribution to the development of football in the country.

Class One Referee, Samuel K. Gyasi came out as the Best Referee of the season after beating two other FIFA Referees, Joseph O. Lamptey and Cecil Fletcher.  In the Media Awards, Samuel Ebo Kwaitoo of Graphic Group Communications Limited (GGCL) won the Best Print Football Journalist Award; with Christopher Opoku also picking the Electronic version of the award.  Metro TV won the Best Television Football Station award; with Happy FM winning the Best Radio Station award for the season.

Source: modernghana.com

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: